Lunchtime Favorites: Black Bean Quesedillas

Planning meals for the daycare kids is one of the busiest jobs I have.  It’s a challenge to find meal plans that are simple, healthy, and fast.  My goals for the daycare meal scene are that they don’t cost too much, are good for them, and are appealing to them too.

This is not an easy task, but I feel like I have done a pretty good job with juggling the meals for my little crew here over the past three years.  I am going to break down a few of our favorite menus for you here and hope that it can help someone out with the task of planning their meals for any child they might care for.

Black Bean Quesedillas are a HUGE hit here and I love them because they are so easy to prepare and to have ingredients on hand for.

Here’s what you need:

Canned black beans, rinsed and drained

Canned or fresh {if affordable and in-season} tomatoes

A pinch or two of cumin {optional}

shredded cheese-we like colby jack blend from Costco

Tortillas

Now, here is where I like to sometimes do some of the prep ahead of time such as the night before or in the morning if the kids are playing well on their own.  Grab a bowl and just combine the beans and tomatoes together and then at least you will have that part ready to go!

When it’s time for lunch prep, just whip out your handy electric skillet {if you don’t have one…get one!} and add the tortillas, top with the bean mixture and then the shredded cheese.  Top with another tortilla and flip after the bottom is lightly browned and crisp.  I have to take these off to cool for a bit before serving as they do get very hot on the inside!

Another tool I cannot live without are my kitchen shears…I have several pairs!  They are a daycare provider’s FRIEND!  I like to snip the tortillas into triangles or whatever works and add to their plates with a side of sour cream for dipping.

The rest of the meal includes another veggie like corn and some fruit…I like bananas with this meal.

Easy peasy…lemon squeezy.  🙂

2 thoughts on “Lunchtime Favorites: Black Bean Quesedillas

  1. teachmetobraid

    I love quesadillas. A couple years ago, I made myself probably six quesadillas per week. My favorites were a black bean quesadilla just like the one you wrote about and also a buffalo chicken quesadilla with rotisserie chicken breast, buffalo sauce, blue cheese and colby jack. I ate so many quesadillas that I got a callus on my finger where my fork rested when I cut them. My husband still hasn’t let me live that one down. (-:

    You’ve got me craving quesadillas!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

