Bad news.

I so rarely turn on the news these days, but happened to catch a snippet while browsing our dvr recently only to hear about a home daycare provider that abused a young child in her care.

Many emotions flooded into my being- anger, sadness, disbelief and frustration.

The media eats these stories up. Almost as if to say that if this woman had been more educated or joined a union, or had more state-mandated rules put in place in her childcare this wouldn’t have happened. Unfortunately, people do bad things and hurt innocent people in this world.

I hate that someone given the {huge} responsibility of caring for young children could do these things, and I also hate that the media highlights THESE stories again and again.

I know for myself personally, and so many of my provider friends out there-we are in this field for a reason. We love what we do. Yes, it is difficult and can be trying, but this is a profession for us and we take it seriously. It would be so awesome if we could see the media do a story on the nightly news that actually shows what those of us working our tails off to love, educate, and care for kids are doing. To hear testimony of the difference we are making every single day.

I am so thankful for the resources I have out there to help me grow and learn more about my field. I have a wonderful network of provider friends who I can call, email or meet with when I need encouragement or have questions. This is such a huge part of what being a home daycare provider is all about. We do not need to feel alone or isolated, and we need to know how to manage our stress. Take a class, workout in the mornings or evenings…get good sleep! If something isn’t working well in our programs, we can change it so it works better.

So the next time you see a news report on an awful home provider….please remember that there are so many wonderful and amazing providers still out there doing their best to give the kids in their care a meaningful and quality experience.

Leave a Reply

