On naps.

Naptime.  A time for little bodies that played SO very hard all day long from that early morning arrival until the last bite of lunch to REST.  

I love this time of day.  I desperately need that short 2 hour (if I’m lucky anyways) break in the day to just have silence and a mental recharge.  I’ve wiped bottoms, picked up boots, shoes and toys.  I’ve answered a million questions and cooked two meals already.

It’s a long day that I put in and this is why I am a big promoter of the infamous nap.

However, it’s not just all about me here.   These precious little angels need their beauty rest more than anyone.  I love seeing the good health on kids that sleep.  All my kids here are on good schedules for sleep at home and this equals happy ready to learn and grow, children.

They love their naptime ritual and would be devastated without it.  I never hear complaints about going down and it’s becuase they know how much they need that time.  I have a few who sleep a bit lighter than others, and that’s okay because they are still getting much-needed downtime.

It’s time to let all that learning we’ve been doing settle in and process.

According to Health.com-

Your mind is surprisingly busy while you snooze. During sleep you can strengthen memories or “practice” skills learned while you were awake (it’s a process called consolidation). 

“If you are trying to learn something, whether it’s physical or mental, you learn it to a certain point with practice,” says Dr. Rapoport, who is an associate professor at NYU Langone Medical Center. “But something happens while you sleep that makes you learn it better.”

And….

A lack of sleep can result in ADHD-like symptoms in kids, Dr. Rapoport says. 

“Kids don’t react the same way to sleep deprivation as adults do,” he adds. “Whereas adults get sleepy, kids tend to get hyperactive.” 

A 2009 study in the journal Pediatrics found that children ages seven and eight who got less than about eight hours of sleep a night were more likely to be hyperactive, inattentive, and impulsive.

This is why I choose to put my crew down for naps every single day.  It’s GOOD for them, period.  It does take some effort at times to establish the routine, and there may be off days but it is always worth the effort in my book.

So if just reading this made you sleepy, go ahead-take a little snooze!  It’s good for the soul.

Top-091

Me and my Dad circa 1983

3 thoughts on “On naps.

  1. Em

    You sound like such an excellent childcare provider. Your home sounds like a safe, relaxing, nourishing place to be. And I love the pic of you and your dad at the end. So sweet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

