mid-winter.

It’s been a rough last couple of weeks. I have felt just flat worn out. I haven’t been in God’s word nearly enough and life starts to just wear on a person…the mundane and the busy both.

I want MORE. I want a freshness of the soul, I want to feel alive and energetic, not just trying to survive and go through the motions.

I think this winter has been a rough one for many, and I know I’m not the only one looking for change and growth and peace.

I know God is still here. He wants me to “cast” all these cares on Him, I know He is the only one who will not tire of hearing my wearisome complaints and deep thoughts. Praise God for that. I know I would not be able to keep going without Him.

P1030410

Despite feeling the drudgery of mid-winter blahs, I have had some moments of extreme gratitude. I am SO blessed by some amazing friends, as well as other daycare providers {some I’ve never met in person} who I can go to for venting, advice, and laughter.  Since I’ve started opening up my heart about the journey I’m on I know God has put several people in my life that I may not have been able to connect with.  It really encourages me to know that my trials are not in vain, but rather quite purposeful.

I still don’t understand all the small questions that come across my mind, but if we knew everything all at once that God was doing, we wouldn’t need to trust Him for every next step.

The Casting Crowns song comes to my mind during these times,

I was sure by now, God you would have reached down and wiped our tears away, stepped in and saved the day

But once again, I say “Amen” and it’s still raining. As the thunder rolls, I barely hear you whisper through the rain “I’m with you”

And as your mercy falls I raise my hands and praise the God who gives and takes away.

4 thoughts on “mid-winter.

  1. Pingback: mid-winter. « At Rest In Him

  2. Pingback: Getaway « home daycare and me

  3. Pingback: Getaway « home daycare and me

Leave a Reply

