Outdoorsy

One of my favorite things to do as a childcare provider is to get outdoors.  I think my love for all things outdoorsy comes from my own childhood.  We spent many hours playing outside and found so much merriment from it.  Forts, trees to climb, hills to sled on, and wetlands to trudge through were all tools for our use, on the canvas of our days.

I still marvel at the great outdoors and am not bothered by the rain, snow or cold.  Well, at least when it isn’t SO extreme we really cannot go out.  I am sad to see that many who are in the profession of childcare do not make the effort to get their kids out.  

Children THRIVE on playing outdoors.  I have learned that the younger they start playing outside the better they cope with it.  I also notice that children who are taken outside a lot with their parents enjoy it more as well.  I am not swayed by having an infant here…I simply (well it’s not at all a simple process ) bundle the baby up and put them in a baby seat and bring them out with us.  If it’s warm outside a stroller or swing work great too!  

It takes planning and patience to GET outdoors, but the payoff is fresh air to breath, room to run and happy, tired kids!  I love watching them make new discoveries like learning that if they fall in the snow they CAN get up and keep going and be okay!  They learn teamwork, taking turns and safety.  They learn about God’s creatures and the sunsets, migrations and how plants grow in the soil.  

Those of you who have this down-good for you!  Those of you afraid of the effort…keep trying and reap the rewards that are there for you AND the children.  

Image

 

 

One thought on “Outdoorsy

  1. Emily Jo Stump

    “We spent many hours playing outside and found so much merriment from it. Forts, trees to climb, hills to sled on, and wetlands to trudge through were all tools for our use, on the canvas of our days.”

    Yes we did…. and it was some of the best times of our lives (at least it was mine).. National Geographic, Mary & Carrrie…

    I may not be able to be close, but you remain often in my prayers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

